Vestibulo-Okulomotorisches Labor

Vestibulo-Okulomotorisches Labor
Vestibulo-Oculomotor Laboratory

Introduction

The Vestibulo-Oculomotor Laboratory at University Hospital Zurich conducts research on the neural systems controlling balance, eye, head, and reaching movements. We are particularly interested in the diagnosis and treatment of central and peripheral diseases of the ocular motor and vestibular systems in humans. Recently, we started to investigate the ocular motor system in zebrafish larvae with the focus on the pathophysiology and treatment of congenital nystagmus. Our laboratory is equipped with unique devices (such as the 3D turntable or the hexapod) that allow us to precisely control and measure human movements in order to study the sensorimotor interactions that are necessary to help us move in dynamic environments.

3D motorized human turntable (Acutronic)
3D motorized human turntable (Acutronic)

Hexapod motion simulator (FCS-Moog)
Hexapod motion simulator (FCS-Moog)


Researchers

Senior researchers and group leaders

Chris Bockisch, Ph.D.
Tel. +41 44 255 43 51
Fax +41 44 255 45 33
chris.bockisch@usz.ch

Melody Ying-Yu Huang, Ph.D.
Tel. +41 44 255 91 58
Fax +41 44 255 45 33
ying-yu.huang@usz.ch

PD Antonella Palla, M.D.
Fax +41 44 255 45 33
antonella.palla@usz.ch

Prof. Dominik Straumann, M.D.
Tel. +41 44 255 55 50
Fax +41 44 255 45 33
dominik.straumann@usz.ch

Konrad Weber, M.D.
Tel.: +41 44 255 43 51
Fax: +41 44 255 45 33
konrad.weber@usz.ch

Giovanni Bertolini, Ph.D.
Tel.: +41 44 255 91 58
Fax: +41 44 255 39 96
giovanni.bertolini@usz.ch

Alexander Tarnuzter, M.D.
Tel.: +41 44 255 91 58
Fax: +41 44 255 45 33
alexander.tarnutzer@usz.ch

Yulia Valko, M.D.
Tel.: +41 44 255 91 58
Fax: +41 44 255 45 33
yulia.valko@usz.ch

Doctoral students

Maresa Afthinos
Tel.: +41 44 255 91 58
Fax: +41 44 255 45 33
maresa.afthinos@usz.ch

Chien-Cheng Chen
Tel.: +41 44 255 91 58
Fax: +41 44 255 45 33
chien-cheng.chen@usz.ch

Engineers and technicians

Elena Buffone
Tel.: +41 44 255 60 06
Fax: +41 44 255 45 33
elena.buffone@usz.ch

Marco Penner
Tel.: +41 44 255 55 47
Fax: +41 44 255 43 07
marco.penner@usz.ch

Urs Scheifele
Tel.: +41 44 255 91 58
Fax: +41 44 255 45 33
urs.scheifele@usz.ch


Major projects

Ocular motor plasticy following vestibular tone asymmetry in humans
Hegemann Stefan et al.
SNF: http://p3.snf.ch/project-122535

Three-dimensional kinematical analysis of ocular motor disorders in humans
Dominik Straumann et al.
SNF: http://p3.snf.ch/project-133125

Study of infantile nystagmus syndrome: development of the ocular motor system, disease mechanism and clinical applications (Marie Heim-Voegtlin grant)
Melody Ying-Yu Huang
SNF: http://p3.snf.ch/project-139754

Pathophysiology of rebound: Instability of cerebellar null representation for ocular motor control and gravity perception
Sarah Marti et al.
SNF: http://p3.snf.ch/project-130163

Using zebrafish mutant belladonna and hypopigmented mice as disease models to study congenital nystagmus in human patients
Dominik Straumann et al.
ZIHP: http://www.zihp.uzh.ch/research/cooperative-projects/current.html


Recent publications

Please follow this link for an up-to-date list of publications providing you also with reprints, preprints and so on whenever possible.


Links